Skip to main content

Botanas Michoacanas Recall: The product labels include a Contains statement that did not disclose sesame for the product that contains sesame. Sesame is included Ingredient statement.

United States

TerminatedClass II

Company
Botanas Michoacanas
Product
Churritos Corn Flour sticks, shelf stable, 6 months shelf li…
Recall date
June 8, 2023
Terminated
November 14, 2024
Source
FDA

Reason for recall

The product labels include a Contains statement that did not disclose sesame for the product that contains sesame. Sesame is included Ingredient statement.

  1. - Recall initiated
  2. - Reported by source
  3. - Recall terminated
Recalled products
Product description UPC Quantity Lot / code information
Churritos Corn Flour sticks, shelf stable, 6 months shelf life, packed in a rectangular shape clear polypropylene bag with net wt.11 oz (311.845g.), UPC# 6-0972233599-7. Product labeled in part, "***BOTANAS MICHOACANS CHURRITOS CORN FLOUR STICKS***Best By:***Ingredients: Corn Flour, wheat flour (niacin, reduced iron, thiamine monoltrate, riboflavin, folic acid) water, salt, sesame seen, corn oil, canola oil. Contains WHEAT. BOTANAS MICHOACANAS PORTLAND, OR 97206***NET WT. 11oz (311.845g)***6-0972233599-7***". Not published in this source record 40 -20 piece cases Affected product has BEST BY of 6/01/23 to 12/06/23.

Distribution

  • Product was distributed in OR and CA.

Official source record

Agency
FDA
Dataset
FDA Food Enforcement (Recalls)
Recall number
F-1250-2023
Event ID
92517
Status
Terminated
Classification
Class II
Company
Botanas Michoacanas
Product description
Churritos Corn Flour sticks, shelf stable, 6 months shelf life, packed in a rectangular shape clear polypropylene bag with net wt.11 oz (311.845g.), UPC# 6-0972233599-7. Product labeled in part, "***BOTANAS MICHOACANS CHURRITOS CORN FLOUR STICKS***Best By:***Ingredients: Corn Flour, wheat flour (niacin, reduced iron, thiamine monoltrate, riboflavin, folic acid) water, salt, sesame seen, corn oil, canola oil. Contains WHEAT. BOTANAS MICHOACANAS PORTLAND, OR 97206***NET WT. 11oz (311.845g)***6-0972233599-7***".
Quantity
40 -20 piece cases
Reason
The product labels include a Contains statement that did not disclose sesame for the product that contains sesame. Sesame is included Ingredient statement.
Recall initiation date
June 8, 2023
Report date
July 26, 2023
Classification date
Not published in this source record
Termination date
November 14, 2024
Distribution pattern
Product was distributed in OR and CA.
UPC, lot, and code information
Affected product has BEST BY of 6/01/23 to 12/06/23.
Voluntary or mandated
Voluntary: Firm initiated
Initial notification method
Two or more of the following: Email, Fax, Letter, Press Release, Telephone, Visit
Source last updated
Not tracked separately from the Public Health Trace retrieval date below
Public Health Trace retrieval date

Responsible company: Botanas Michoacanas

Distribution map

A map highlighting the states named in the source's distribution description.

Shading reflects state-level totals only, as published by the source. It does not imply county-level or point-level precision.

Distribution map
State Distributed
Oregon 1
California 1

States shown are extracted from the source's free-text distribution description above; a narrative description (e.g. "distributed nationwide") may not list individual states to extract.

Where this information comes from

View FDA enforcement record -- the specific openFDA record this summary was built from.

No separate FDA public notice was found for this enforcement record. The information below comes from FDA's Recall Enterprise System through openFDA.

FDA Enforcement Reports -- FDA's general, official recall and enforcement information.

Technical source data

View raw source data -- the machine-readable record this page's information was built from.

Retrieved by Public Health Trace:

Frequently asked questions

What does a Class II mean?

A situation in which use of or exposure to a product may cause temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences, or where the probability of serious consequences is remote.

Is this recall still active?

According to FDA, this recall's status is "Terminated." Always confirm the current status using the source links below, since status can change after Public Health Trace last retrieved this record.

What should I do if I have this product?

Follow the instructions published by the responsible agency (see the source links below) -- recall guidance (e.g. dispose of the product, return it for a refund, or check for a specific lot number) varies by recall and is set by that agency, not by Public Health Trace.

Where can I find more official information?

The source links below, published by FDA, are the authoritative record for this recall, including any updates issued after this summary was retrieved.

This summary is based on the official source record referenced above. Public Health Trace does not state that any company or product is unsafe beyond what the official source has published. Read the full medical disclaimer.